This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

9.4 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.6
Comfort
9.5
Property location
9.5
Facilities
9.3
Staff
9.8
Value
8.7
Reviews
    Thomas
    ch
    10
    10 January 2018
    Best game reserve in the area
    We did 3 game reserves in the area including Shamwari and preferred this one of all. Good value for money. Authentic place with very professional staff. Have Sarah as your ranger she is great! Thanks to the team!
    Andreas
    de
    10
    8 January 2018
    Superb premises, great food, excellent Ranger Vicki who is very knowledgeable and just fun to drive with. We saw a lot of animals close by, an unforgetable memory!!
    CATHERINE
    gb
    10
    7 January 2018
    Excellent
    No wi fi in the rooms
    Our game driver Vikki was exceptional. Very informative and helpful . We saw lots of animals on only two game drives
    Sile
    ie
    10
    2 January 2018
    A little piece of heaven on earth
    The food was excellent. Couldn’t be faulted. Ruan, the guide, was fantastic.
    au
    10
    16 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Ian Thow
    gb
    10
    9 December 2017
    Excellent Lalibela.
    Nothing really, we had a first class experience.
    Excellent accommodation and food. Game drives were generally very good and the staff were very friendly.
    Karen
    gb
    9.6
    4 December 2017
    Fabulous safari
    Large room and bathroom with fantastic views. Extremely knowledgeable and enthusiastic Ranger.
    Robert
    gb
    7.1
    3 December 2017
    Very disappointing.
    The food was was 3-star at best. Single choice menu using cheap options. A 5-star claim gives an expectation of 5-star dining, and a price tag of £550 a night reinforces this expectation. The offer of build-your-own burgers for lunch, and venison pie for dinner are not acceptable. Add to this the paltry portions, and having to ask for more than a spoonful of pie-meat and some crust, starts to become insulting. A comment to my wife of 'it has to go a long way' was a condemnation of the catering planning. Furthermore, being told 'they are for vegetarians only' when I asked for the cubed potatoes rather than mashed was rude. The pool looked more like fish pond, with murky water.
    The drive-guide was great.
    Angus_M
    gb
    10
    28 November 2017
    Adventure of a Lifetime!
    There is nothing you can fault about this place!
    The staff are wonderful, the food excellent and the entire place was out of this world. The whole experience was a once in a lifetime trip, we will never forget our stay at Lalibella! We can only hope to come back again sometime in the future. I miss waking up to that breathtaking view, jumping into the land cruiser and Teacher pointing out the lions, elephants, boys in pyjamas, giraffes, monkeys, McDonalds, Hippos....to name but a few of the incredible wildlife at Lalibella.
    ie
    10
    22 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jenni Roberts
    gb
    10
    15 November 2017
    Lovely Lalibela!
    Room had a nasty smell which was really quite unpleasant.
    Welcoming, friendly, efficient with great food and hospitality. Couldn't have been looked after better.
    STEPHEN
    au
    10
    11 November 2017
    We loved every minute of our stay. Extremely well looked after, wonderful food and lots of wildlife.
    Nothing negative to report!
    Lots of little service extras made the visit extra special.
    glen
    us
    6.7
    2 November 2017
    Disappointed.
    We had a tree top tent room and it was very windy and cold while we were there. The canvas sides on the tent were not zippered all around- on the bottom they was velcro only. The velcro did not seal at all and the wind really whipped through the room. It was so cold we spent most of the time in the lodge area. Also, they advertise being a Big 5 resort but do not have cheetahs or cape buffaloe. They variety of game is nowhere near Amakala, yet the prices are about the same.
    The staff and food was very good. Our game drive guide was excellent.
    gb
    10
    3 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Pamela
    gb
    10
    29 September 2017
    Awesome!!
    Nothing, the staff could not do enough for you.
    The whole experience was wonderful. Liked everything.
    Lynn
    za
    5.4
    22 September 2017
    Disappointing
    The accommodation was basic, the food was adequate and there was a distinct lack of animals
    Claire
    gb
    10
    18 September 2017
    It was our honeymoon and we were made to feel extra special. We really cannot fault any area during
    Gioia
    it
    10
    21 August 2017
    Special and really smart accomodation. Wonderful guide, staff and food.! A lot of animals to see!
    Roger
    gb
    9.6
    3 May 2017
    A great place for a game drive
    Inka
    za
    10
    2 May 2017
    For South Africans it is more a retreat than a game lodge although there was plenty of game to be se
    Swimming pool water could be made warmer by putting on a plastic bubble blanket. It also saves water.
    Beautiful tranquil surroundings and well appointed tents perhaps only lacking a small bar fridge for cold water etc.
Loading reviews
Close